Returning to the Revolution

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MVS

MVS
  • Forum Member
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 November 2007 - 02:31 PM

Hello, all. Long time reader, first time poster ;)

Almost 15 years ago, I had a Rev I, then purchased a Rev II as a followup. They both lasted until life got in the way, and parts were broken/lost/misplaced in a move.

Now, I want to get back into kiting, but also have my wife participate.

What's the best Rev for someone who had experience flying a Revolution, but will also be gentle enough for an absolute beginner?

I live in an area of California where afternoon wind gusts of 5-12 mph are quite common. And in 20 minutes, I could be in an area where the Santa Ana winds were clocked at 84 mph last weekend. This explains why I broke some things years ago.. a 30+ mph gust nuked my kite as it was just lifting off. It (and I) were dragged across the field.... (No, I won't be flying in those! Posted Image

-Joe

#2 Watty

Watty

Forum Veteran

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,867 posts

Posted 06 November 2007 - 03:17 PM

I would suggest a vented B-Series, then later a standerd B-Series. This kite has great precision, and is a great kite to fly. Plus, it is great on beginners. The winds where you are seem to be fairly heavy right?? So a vented would be more practicle at the moment. Later you should get the standard for those light wind days. ;)

Spence "Watty" Watson

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#3 antman

antman

king of wildwood

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,209 posts

Posted 06 November 2007 - 03:43 PM

watty is right there that or a 1.5 .. and as for that rev 2 get that up and running too its a blast to fly in high winds
GOD PUT ME HERE. TO ENJOY THE WINDS

#4 Baloo

Baloo

Frequent Flyer

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,831 posts

Posted 06 November 2007 - 11:01 PM