• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 foggydave

foggydave
  • Forum Member
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 May 2012 - 12:47 AM

Hi
I have been flying my SLE for 4 months and the leading edge mesh is splitting in quite a few places. Also the ends of the dacron leading edge and the dacron strengtheners on the leading edge are fraying badly. Not very impressed to say the least.

SO I wish to replace the leading edge and mesh.

Question. Has the leading edge (LE) got a 'built in' curve or drop on it ? I have layed it out on my bench and 20.5 inches from the center of the kite the LE drops down 1.5 inches to the end of the LE I am not sure if this drop is a result of flying or is built into the top of the kite.

I have laid my EXP out and it has a gentle curve from the center to the leading edge of about 2 inches. Is this also built in.
Also the distance from the center to the holes for the top cap are noy equal one is 27 inches the other is 27.25 inches which one if any is correct?

Is this splitting of the leading edge mesh and the dacron fraying a common problem on Rev kites? As I was going to buy a B series but do not want to spend 250 / $400 on something that will start to deteriorate in such a short time.

I must say I started with an EXP which as I was a novice has stood up to some harsh treatment and although the fraying dacron is a common fault I do not have problems with the LE mesh.

Dave
My web site http://www.foggydave.co.uk for my humorous stories, ebay sales, and other written bric a brac to hopefully amuse and brighten an otherwise dismal day.

#2 goestoeleven

goestoeleven

Occasional Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted 26 May 2012 - 05:18 AM

Foggy Dave -