Vented Rev With Race Rods

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 xC4RB0NxR3104Dx

xC4RB0NxR3104Dx
  • Forum Member
  • 24 posts

Posted 16 June 2011 - 04:55 PM

I noticed that on this forum, a lot of people mention vented revs, but with race rods. Maybe it's because I'm new to this, but this makes no sense to me. Vented revs are obviously made for high wind conditions, so why would you take a vented rev, and put the lightest rod set you could in it. Does it create a unique and fun flying experience, or is it just an opinion thing. If you did have a setup like that, what kind of winds would you fly it in???

I was just hoping someone could explain this to me, because in the kitelife poll, the crowd favorite seems to Be a Vented B-series with racerods, and this honestly makes little sense to mePosted Image
KIRBY SHUFFLE!!!
^('.')^ (>'.')> <('.')> <('.'<) ^('.')^

#2 stroke survivor

stroke survivor

Hard Core Kite Flier

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,686 posts

Posted 16 June 2011 - 09:38 PM

OK, lots of people like venteds for the smoothness! The vents even out the bumps and other stuff! The race rods lower the wind range of the venteds by lightening them up!! That means you can fly vents in lighter winds and take advantage of the smoothness vents offer!! Posted Image

wayne from portland
You have 2 choices - live on or die!! I ain't the dying type!!!  Also known as "portland flyer" on some forums!

7346824786_f12fcda7bd_s.jpg7770032034_ebc85fc33e_s.jpg7776002900_89d33b664b_s.jpgLogoupdate.png

AKA member

#3 Kitelife

Kitelife

Forum Guru

• Forum Host
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,934 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 07:27 AM

Loosely speaking, vented Revs are smoother and more precise (although they have less "snap" in the controls)...

Using a UL frame lowers the wind range of the vented kite so you can enjoy it's characteristics in lighter winds.