7 replies to this topic

#1 Beaufort

Beaufort

Occasional Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts

Posted 31 October 2010 - 01:10 AM

Pls. explain to me the effect of bend in the different types of rods? I am relatively new in Revs, so forgive me if it is trivial.

I know a lighter rod 2 wrap compared to a higher number weighs less. and therefore can fly in less wind.

But is it only a matter of weight?

Or does the bend effect also play a role?
E.g. am I right in that more bend equals more lift? And also more pull? Posted Image Or only one of them?...

If more bend equals more lift and more pull, I could also use this principle in "reverse"; I am thinking when a standard sail pulls a bit too much, it will pulls less with a stiffer rod, right? (So in this sense a SLE rod might be good (Blasphemy, I know!))

And what about the race rods, where do they fit in in this logic? More bend for the same weight or only more strength for the same weight?

Thanks for telling me!Posted Image

#2 ahofer

ahofer

Occasional Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts

Posted 31 October 2010 - 05:17 AM

You can reshape the sail a lot more with some bend. The dive-stop is much cleaner with a stiff leading edge. I find the bend "cups" the wind more, so I wouldn't say there's always less pull. The bend allows the bottoms to come out more and enhances the braking.
When I was young, my bologna had a first name. Now my bodywash has an "Objective".

#3 Beaufort

Beaufort

Occasional Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts

Posted 31 October 2010 - 09:02 AM

You can reshape the sail a lot more with some bend. The dive-stop is much cleaner with a stiff leading edge. I find the bend "cups" the wind more, so I wouldn't say there's always less pull. The bend allows the bottoms to come out more and enhances the braking.

Thanks for replying, Ahofer!

I am not sure what your answer was to my questions? Maybe becasuse I am not native in english....