• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Jonathan

Jonathan
  • Forum Member
  • 32 posts

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:57 PM

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to revolution flying. Going to get my revolution SUL this coming June. Is it a good revolution kite for a beginner? Any tips in flying this revolution kite?

Regards,
Jonathan

#2 REVflyer

REVflyer

Rev Guru

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 03:06 AM

start your quad-line experience by equalizing your lines FIRST before you even assemble that new kite!

With all the flying line endpoint loops attached to a single, well-placed stake (or a fence post, soccer goal, etc)
and the other ends affixed to your handles
( w/leaders, each sporting a series of knots, equa-distantly spaced less than an inch apart,)
pull each handle up-tight and next to each other,... do they align?,.. Perfectly?

You can adjust either the leader knots or loosen the sleeving on your flying lines and re-tie those instead. Most fliers do the 2nd one! The handles will perfectly align with each other, when this step is completed. Flying before this adjustment is confirmed means you don't have full control "equally". The kites going to fly and you're going to chase controlling it. The muscle memory necessary to enjoy oneself fully happens around two words, "neutral hover".

You next stage is to adjust the amount of "DOWN" so the kite will back-up.