Photo

Why the screen/mesh by the leading edge?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 AldenMiler

AldenMiler

Bazzer P Wannabe

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,435 posts

Posted 28 March 2007 - 06:59 PM

I tried to fly my 1/5 SLE yesterday afternoon but the breeze was too light, I could fly for a minute and then the wind would die off and the kite would fall from the sky.

So, this gave me time to think instead of fly...

I was wondering what the mesh just behind the leading edge does for the flying characteristics of the kite?

I sort of understand that the vented revs have the mesh to reduce pull in higher winds but I was curious as to what the leading edge mesh does.

-Alden
"Don't go in there!" RC

#2 wufer

wufer

Regular Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts

Posted 29 March 2007 - 06:20 AM

Alden.
Im new to revs but from what ive been told it all to do with flying in reverse(points first).
Apparently the mesh lets the air vent from the sail when flying in reverse so as to make it a lot smoother to fly.
But maybe a wolf or a monkey can explain it better.(hint)
Regards.
Derek

#3 monkey

monkey

Rev Guru

• Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 838 posts

Posted 29 March 2007 - 08:23 AM

Alden.
Im new to revs but from what ive been told it all to do with flying in reverse(points first).
Apparently the mesh lets the air vent from the sail when flying in reverse so as to make it a lot smoother to fly.
But maybe a wolf or a monkey can explain it better.(hint)
Regards.
Derek

heh, well, ya, thats basically the entire purpose, to spill off the wind nicely as its moving in reverse. Without fail, any custom I have ever flown that did NOT have that mesh, flew a little oddly in reverse.
David Hathaway, Revisionist
-~ REVisions
-~ www.simian-studios.ca
-~ www.teamiquad.com
Postatem obscuri lateris nescitis!

#4 Kitelife

Kitelife

Forum Guru

• Forum Host
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,934 posts