#1 TimW

TimW

Occasional Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 04:05 AM

Hi all, Thought i'd say hello and give you some background info about me
Name's Tim, 41, UK based (Swansea, South Wales - NOT England but attached to it)
I have been flying foils for many years including quad line with my largest quad being a 6sqM and my smallest (and fastest by far) being a 1 sqM dual line.
I'm a static flyer although i have tried and enjoyed a few Buggy trials, but with a back injury, i paid for it over the following few days.

I first saw a Rev in action on the beach just down the road and just stopped and watched the pilot for about 2 hours before asking him what his kite was, he kindly allowed me a half hour trial run with it and i became hooked on the thought of owning one.
Now via the great Bay of E, i own a Rev EXP and a Blast but have yet to get out in the wind with them. The day will come soon though.

I have read and gleaned soo much info from this site, but i'm still apprehensive about the 'getting it right' factor.

I now ask if any of you experienced fliers could give me some of the tips that you found useful when you first started with your Rev's

Many Thanks

Tim
Finally getting my own back on the wind, after being pushed around by it for years.

#2 Scott_of_melnsct

Scott_of_melnsct

Regular Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 439 posts

Posted 09 June 2009 - 04:25 AM

Welcome aboard. Rev flying is a one way train and it never stops...because nobody wants off.

Tha hands down best way to get started is with other flyers. I'm sure once the sun rolls around to your part of the world the other UK flyers will start chiming in. Make plans to fly with some of them. They'll help you. The learning curve is is greatly sped up when you're not alone practicing your mistakes.
Scott A Koenig
Founding member: Tennessee Wind Militia
"We muster to fly at a moment's notice"

#3 TimW

TimW

Occasional Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPip