• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 spotter

spotter
  • Forum Member
  • 38 posts

Posted 17 December 2008 - 04:12 PM

Hey guys,

Been looking for some information on this but have been struggling to find a thread about it. I am still new to rev flying so am looking at some very basic information to try and help my flying a lot.

I am after information on the length of the brake lines compared to the forward flight lines. I have tried shortening the brake lines on the handles but adding an extra knot and have found a bit of difference in the flying. I also saw something by kitelife (i think) regarding holding onto the handles in that the pointer finger is for forward flight, middle for hovering and ring finger for backwards flight. I have tried this with a little bit of luck but that would change depending on the length of the brakes.

So really how do you set this length and how do you know when they are set correctly?
Trying to fly "Down Under"

#2 Kitelife

Kitelife

Forum Guru

• Forum Host
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,934 posts

Posted 17 December 2008 - 04:19 PM

I think you'll find quite a few of the topics under this search to be very useful...

I just did a forum search for "brake lines".

Perhaps some of the new/intermediate pilots here will recommend specific discussions that have been useful to them. ;)

John Barresi

johnbarresi.com | kitelife.com | learnkites.com | teamiquad.comkitemap.org
youtube.com/kitelife | facebook.com/kitelifemagazine | KiteLife on Google+

President - American Kitefliers Association

"We cannot direct the wind, but we can adjust the sails."
(found in a fortune cookie - possibly an Einstein quote)

My full list of kite articles - kitelife.com/author/john-barresi

Please reward posts that are helpful, give positive reputation by clicking on "Like This" button on the right side of each post.

#3 bartman

bartman

Frequent Poster

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,103 posts