Jump to content


Photo

Rev 2 Center Bridle attachment Length


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Coughitup

Coughitup
  • Forum Member
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orangevale CA

Posted 13 May 2008 - 02:19 PM

Hello All,
I recently purchased a second hand rev 2. It is missing the loop that attaches the center part of the bridle to the kite. Could someone please supply me with the proper length of the aforementioned loop?
Thanks for you time
Bryan

#2 steveb

steveb

    Occasional Poseur

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 614 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond BC, Canada

Posted 13 May 2008 - 03:41 PM

It's a length of line about 7" long, fed through a larkshead knot on the loop in the middle of the bridle and then through the hole in the leading edge and then folded in 1/2 and tied into an overhand knot on the end with about 1/8" ends left.
The finished loop is just over 2" from the inside of the knot to the end of the loop.

whew!, that's a lot to read- it's faster to do than to type.

1. 7" Dacron line
2. make larkshead knot on the loop in the middle of the bridle
3. feed line through larkshead
4. feed one end of line through the hole in the middle of the leading edge
5. take the ends of the line, make simple overhand knot on end, leaving about 1/8" ends

#3 Coughitup

Coughitup
  • Forum Member
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orangevale CA

Posted 13 May 2008 - 05:32 PM

Thanks SteveB! Now I just need some wind!

#4 antman

antman

    king of wildwood

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:kitefliers underground

Posted 13 May 2008 - 05:35 PM

make one as close to the leading edge as you can .. paul lemaster has a diffrent setup then i do.. i make my center loop as small as the knot will tie around the leading edge and the kite is way better to control that way for me.. youll notice better responce for the kite this way as the extra bridle loops are uneeded .. this method is great for light wind flying but i found useful for all winds as it make the kite fly so much eazier in any wind range..
GOD PUT ME HERE. TO ENJOY THE WINDS

#5 Coughitup

Coughitup
  • Forum Member
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orangevale CA

Posted 13 May 2008 - 05:40 PM

Thanks Antman I will try that setup also. Do you use the same setup on your other revs?

#6 steveb

steveb

    Occasional Poseur

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 614 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond BC, Canada

Posted 13 May 2008 - 06:13 PM

The stock loop on my new Rev II measures about 1 5/8" from the front of the leading edge to the inside of the knot.

#7 antman

antman

    king of wildwood

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:kitefliers underground

Posted 14 May 2008 - 02:34 AM

Thanks Antman I will try that setup also. Do you use the same setup on your other revs?

yea every one of them i have has it
GOD PUT ME HERE. TO ENJOY THE WINDS




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users